U13-Netball-team-win-the-ACSIS-league-14-British-International-School-Johor Bahru-Malaysia-01

U13 Netball team win the ACSIS league

Yesterday the U13 Netball team travelled to the Kallang Netball Centre in Singapore to play in the ACSIS League final. The girls were in high spirits and very much looking forward to taking to the court. As MCM were the only team to be undefeated, we qualified as first in the league. This meant that we would have the opportunity to play the team in fourth place before hopefully going to play the winner of the second and third place match. Unfortunately as soon as we arrived so did a big black cloud, closely followed by a huge storm. The parents and players waited with baited breath to find out what would happen. Would the rain stop? Would the matches be rescheduled?

It soon became apparent that the rain showed no sign of relenting. The coaches met to decide what should happen as the final had to be played that day in order for the new league to start on Monday. After a vote it was decided that the fairest decision for all involved was to award the medals for the current league positions. This meant that after their outstanding unbeaten season, the girls of Marlborough College were awarded the title of ACSIS League Winners 2014.

As a coach I could not be more proud of the progress of each of the ten squad members. Every girl has developed as an individual and as a team player. The determination and sportsmanship that they have shown throughout the season has been a joy to behold. It has been a real pleasure to coach them through this incredibly successful season. I would just like to extend my gratitude to the team captain Stephanie Sullivan. Her positivity, calm nature and supportive manner were integral in leading the girls to this success. I would also like to thank each any every one of the players’ parents who gave up so much of their time to support the team; we couldn’t have done it without you.

Olivia Gregory, Marijn Van Sallandt, Nanarelle Hundertmark, Stephanie Sullivan, India Boyd, Rachel Fulton, Ella Mercurio, Elena Tan, Sophie Parkhurst and Julia Green congratulations on your incredible achievement.

Miss Kelly Kane
Year 5 Form Tutor


You may also like